Barbarian Meets Coding Titlebarbarianmeetscoding

WebDev, UX & a Pinch of Fantasy

What am I working on right Now?

Hi! Welcome to my now page! Here you’ll be able to find out what I am doing and working on right now!

In General

Right now I’m living with my beautiful wife Malin and super cute son Teo in a apartment in the north of Stockholm.

I’m on a 7 month parental leave taking care of Teo who usually wakes me up with a flying kick in the face early in the morning. We spend the day together, getting to know each other better, having fun and discovering the world around us and. When Teo sleeps I do weird shit like programming, writing books or articles for this blog. Sometimes I practice meditation or I go to the gym, run and lift some weights.

When I’m not on parental leave I work as a Front-end Software Engineer at Google working on creating an awesome meeting experience (If you’re interested in learning more about it take a look at my linkedin profile). I also spend part of my time as a Developer Relations for Angular and Google in the Nordics developer community. I speak occasionally at conferences and meetups, write articles, run workshops and talk to developers about how they can do cool things with Angular and JavaScript. I also arrange developer community events at the Google Office in Stockholm as a way to support and encourage the thriving local dev ecosystem and put it in contact with other Googlers.

In the afternoons I like to do stuff with Malin and Teo, talk, perhaps grab a beer, watch something and sometimes I sneak some programming and reading and writing. I have a short commute and I like to walk as much as possible and listen to podcasts and audiobooks. I try to go to bed at around 11pm, it usually becomes 12 or even 1 as I read on my kindle.

Work

  • On parental leave! :)

Speaking

Side Projects

Blogging

  • Blogging a ton about JavaScript. I’m preparing articles on:

    • Angular
    • React
    • Vim
    • Functional programming in JavaScript
    • Elm
    • Phaser and game development
    • Webpack
    • RxJs
    • Recording small programming videos

Workout

  • I try to work out at least 4 times a week. I usually run for 20 minutes and then work on a specific muscle group. I lift heavy weights with 2 warmup sets and 3 serious sets of between 4-6 reps. Today I lift 100kg bench press, 130 kg squats, 130kg deadlift. I have an injury in my shoulder that sucks.

Reading!

  • I am reading a ton of books as usual XD.

I’m Learning

  • … a lot of JavaScript stuff for the book, angular, react, elm, game development, module loaders, haskell…

Cooking and Eating

  • …less carbs and less processed foods. More healthy fats and lots of veggies. I’m testing the bulletproof diet and seeing whether I can reach that unlimited energy state it promises. Bye carb sugar crash.

Listening to

In the Weekends

  • …I do stuff with Malin and Teo :)

Jaime González García

Written by Jaime González García , Dad, Husband, Front-end software engineer, UX designer, amateur pixel artist, tinkerer and master of the arcane arts. You should follow him on Twitter where he shares useful stuff! (and is funny too).Jaime González García